Depth of an Ocean

I love this quotation by Rumi:

“You are not a drop in the ocean. You are the entire ocean in a drop.”

     Sometimes, I get overwhelmed by life.  There are so many things I want to do, places to go, things to learn, opportunities to explore… When I think of all the things I could do every day, and all the things I don’t do, I feel like a drop in the ocean.  In the swirl of life, with kids and responsibilities and chores and bills, I can feel as insignificant as that single droplet, trying to stay afloat, yearning to distinguish myself amidst the multitude of others who live life like I do.  Am I living my life to the fullest? Did I chose the right road to travel?  Should my life look more like that other person’s life?  Am I doing enough with my life?

     Then, I think of that quotation.  I have the whole spectrum of emotions to choose from at any given moment.  Having suffered from depression at times in my life, I remember that feeling of utter hopelessness.  I also remember the euphoria of the best times in my life, like gazing at a beautiful summer landscape from the peak of a Pennsylvanian mountain while growing life inside of me.  I am a culmination of the experiences and actions of my past, and each and every day I have an entire ocean of actions in which to choose my destiny.

IMG_20160330_160021

     What does that mean for me today?  It means I can take a breath and focus on today.  The tide changes with each sunrise and moonrise; I too can choose to change like the ocean, with fluidity, with transparency, with frequency.  Since December I’ve been changing my body with small actions, that like drops of water gathered together are starting to make an ocean of change.  I’m 30 pounds lighter, healthier, happier and more fit than I have been in a long time.  What changes are you going to make today?  Which drop of water are you going to add to your life?  You are an ocean of potential.  Instead of being swept away, add each drop until you flood your being with radiance and joy.

 

Leave a Reply

